TunnelBear

TunnelBear is one of few VPN providers that offers a free plan for users. Subscribe for it and enjoy unrestricted web browsing.
$ 4.17 per month
100%
Privacy & Security
97%
Performance
97%
Customer Support
Last updated: 15/11/2018

TunnelBear Overview

We have all heard about internet hackers who spy on online users to locate their IP addresses so they can hack into the online users’ private accounts and steal private information or account information. 

It can be quite terrible if someone suddenly hacks your email address and gets access to highly secure accounts such as your bank and once the damage is done, it can take you years to recover.

TunnelBear is a perfect solution to keep you out of a sticky situation because it is a fantastic private VPN service that you can rely on to keep your online information as safe and secure as possible.


What is TunnelBear?

TunnelBear is a Virtual Private Network (or simply VPN) that was introduced in the year of 2011. The provider is headquartered in Canada, Toronto namely.

Since March 2018 TunnelBear belongs to one of the most prosperous companies of the world engaged in antivirus software development – McAfee.

From the point of view of usability, this VPN service is perfect. Keep on reading this TunnelBear review and get to know why.

With this VPN in USA you can also access information and websites from other countries that would normally have been restricted in your location.

Places like China have restricted a lot of websites like Facebook, Gmail and Netflix, but if you have the TunnelBear VPN software downloaded on your phone or laptop, you can still access these sites during your travels to these high security destinations.


Is TunnelBear free?

TunnelBear download free

In this part of TunnelBear review the tariff plans and packages of the VPN provider will be highlighted. It is strongly recommended for potential TunnelBear VPN subscribers to study the plans, as they differ in facilities they provide.

Here are TunnelBear packages:

  • Little Free – TunnelBear is one of the best VPN services and luckily for you, this USA VPN is free.  With the Little Free package you can enjoy a protected connection through which you can download 500mb of data for free every month. 

This free service might be limited, but offers unlimited security so your online activities will be confidential no matter what you decide to view. You can also get an extra 1GB download limit if you tweet about TunnelBear’s fantastic services. 

  • Giant – Those who want to enjoy unlimited data on a secure network are to pay for the service rendered. With the Giant plan selected, a TunnelBear VPN subscriber is to pay every month. NO discount is presupposed.

Do you like it? Then the Giant package is for you. The Giant package costs nine dollars and ninety nine cents per month and provides users with great internet freedom and security no matter how much data they view or download. This is the perfect package for those who want to try out TunnelBear’s services. 

  • Grizzly – The Grizzly package allows you to enjoy unlimited data at a discounted rate because you pay the full amount on a yearly basis. The Grizzly package costs only five dollars a month with an annual bill of fifty nine dollars and ninty nine cents billed on a yearly basis.

With the Grizzly package you can save 50 percent on annual costs and enjoy all the benefits that the Giant package offers which makes it a good VPN service for the long run.

Although Grizzly package is the most beneficial for netizens, it is possible to opt for Little or Giant plans and get unrestricted access to the World Wide Web.


TunnelBear download free

Many people tend to believe that free VPN services cannot be REALLY free. However, TunnelBear ruins this stereotype.

TunnelBear VPN offers its service for free for those who does NOT spend too much time on the Internet. If your monthly traffic is about 500 MB, then this VPN provider is definitely for you.

Who will benefit from TunnelBear Little package?

This variant is perfect if you:

… want to use a VPN service to read unbiased news.

… are not interested in streaming or downloading torrents. (Still, if you are interested, check our alternative rating of VPN services for streaming and best torrent VPN.)

… plan to go on holiday abroad.

How to create TunnelBear free account?

It is a child’s play to create a TunnelBear free account. There are only 3 steps to follow:

Step 1

Visit TunnelBear VPN website.

Visit TunnelBear VPN website.

Step 2

Open “Pricing” input and click on the button “Try TunnelBear free”.

 

Create your own free TunnelBear account using your valid email and a unique password

Step 3

Create your own free TunnelBear account using your valid email and a unique password. Don’t ignore the requirement to use a valid email. Otherwise, you will not manage to log in.  

Create your own free TunnelBear account using your valid email and a unique password.


All the great facts about TunnelBear

This reliable VPN service is available across the globe and has servers in 20 popular countries, so you can enjoy all the internet freedom and security that you would have in the USA no matter where you want to go.

The TunnelBear VPN software is specially developed to supply you with high connectivity speeds in each and every one of these 20 locations so you can access all the sites you need and download anything you like without putting yourself at risk.


TunnelBear servers

At the very beginning TunnelBear VPN had servers in 9 countries only.

However, in the course of time, TunnelBear VPN has expanded its horizons. As for May 2018 there are 20 countries that collaborate with TunnelBear.

Thus, its servers are located in:

  • Europe (Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain (update: new tunnels were added), Sweden, Switzerland, the UK)
  • Oceania (Australia)
  • Asia (Hong Kong, India, Japan, Singapore)
  • North America (Canada, Mexico, the USA)
  • South America (Brazil)

Servers of TunnelBear

Such a diverse TunnelBear server network allows its subscribers to bypass restrictions of many countries. Apart from it, having connected to one of these 20 TunnelBear VPN servers, a user changes his/her web browsing significantly.

And the most pleasant part is that all the services of a country one connects to, become unblocked even in China. For example, when a person connects a device to TunnelBear VPN server placed in the USA, American websites become easily accessible.

NB! Due to the feature of “Auto Tunnel”, the best server is offered automatically (on the basis of user’s real location).


The functionality of TunnelBear for users

TunnelBear’s creative media makes even the most technology challenged individuals feel right at home when they use this simple software.

They are, however much more than just easy since they also boast with some of the highest security protocols and offer fantastic connectivity speed so you can continue with all your online activities without feeling restricted in the least of ways.

The website has a fantastic and simple layout so you will find your way to valuable information easily and the software is incredibly simple to set up. This is a perfect solution to VPN clients who aren’t that good with the technicalities of the internet. 


Top Security and Privacy for this simple VPN

Quite often potential VPN consumers ask themselves a question “Is TunnelBear safe?” To answer this question in the most comprehensible way, it is necessary to pay attention to its privacy tools:

  • Military grade ciphering

TunnelBear provides a 128bit Open USA VPN free with added benefits when you subscribe to a higher package.

That’s NOT all. TunnelBear VPN users’ traffic is reliably encoded by dint of AES-256 bit key. This mechanism is well-known in IT sphere thanks to the strongest security it offers.

  • Diverse protocols

Various tunneling protocols for various OSes are required. In its turn TunnelBear provides users with such an opportunity. For gadgets running on Android and Windows OpenVPN is allowed.

IPSec protocols are used for iOS devices and TunnelBear uses shared IPs that protects you while you surf the interne (check if we included it in the rating of VPNs for iOS).

  • Vigilant mode

In case when a VPN user moves between Wi-Fi networks or changes a VPN server, he/she becomes exposed. To prevent it, TunnelBear has launched a specially worked out feature of “Vigilant mode” (for gadgets running on Android, Windows and Mac) that makes netizens protected all the time.

  • Only insignificant data are stored

They do not have a no-logs policy, but you can have a look at their PP to see what information they collect and the reasons they collect this information and it is mostly info that cannot be held against you, should you come under investigations from cyber police. All in all, TunnelBear provides great security at an affordable rate.

Important: an update was added to prevent IP leaks. More details on the site of the VPN provider.

TunnelBear’s Terms of Usage

 

TunnelBear’s support team

You couldn’t be more wrong if you think that a free or affordable service like TunnelBear lacks the support service. 

They have a basic, but great help forum that you can check out to get some basic questions answered as well as an email support team that will get back to you within 24 hours to get you the help that you need if you are suddenly struggling with your software or have any account inquiries.

The support team is not the fastest, but definitely offers great service to those who are in need.


TunnelBear’s Terms of Usage

Having taken a look at the TunnelBear VPN review and decided to run the service, you need to read all the terms of services and privacy policy before subscribing for it.

What information is presented in the documents?

The sections present a future agreement between you, as a customer, and a VPN company, therefore, you’d better read everything attentively for making sure the rules implemented by the company meet your demands.

What information is stored by TunnelBear VPN?

For our part, we have decided to include the most critical information to assure you read all the statements closely.

When speaking about information collected by the company, you might have already known that many VPN companies, as well as other web-based services collect different data for their business needs.

The company is stated to collect the minimal amount of information, which is necessary for service maintenance.

So, if backing to private data gathered and saved by the company, it includes:

  • your authentic email;
  • payment details (user and expiry data);
  • Twitter ID (in case you use the Twitter promo) (Read our VPN rating for Twitter).

If talking about operational data, it contains:

  • OS version, which is used by the company for your support and dealing with operation troubles.
  • The service’s app version, which is applied for your support and solving some tech problems.
  • A current month activity, which is needed for network demand planning and customer support.
  • A total amount of data used per a month (bandwidth), which is required by the company for granting free user data and service’s improvement.

Facility to pay with Bitcoin

Being afraid of banking data collecting you need to learn that the service offers its customers to pay with the help of Bitcoin, which eliminates banking data collection, as it happens in case with credit cards (learn what vpn for online banking is better).

When paying for the service with credit cards, the company saves your last name, date of the card usage, and last 4 numbers of the card. So, being a privacy concerned customer you can see the data is pretty full-length.

However, to keep your payment information secured, TunnelBear has assured to save no complete credit card numbers. Besides, the company is known to work only with PCI compliant payment processor.  

Attention!In case when a TunnelBear VPN subscriber is not satisfied with the services rendered, it is possible to take use of money-back. However, it is impossible for those who pay for the service with cryptocurrency. Bitcoin payment is non-refundable. Learn if we recommend to use this VPN for bitcoin payments.

 

Info kept by TunnelBear

The service can be stated as highly credible, as long as it doesn’t store IPs of the official website visitors’, IPs upon service connections, any personified information on its customers when using the service.

Moreover, if you have some questions about your private information usage, you need to contact the support team and learn all the nuances. What is more, the company says to share NO information (and we studied this issue to add the VPN to no-log VPN list) with any commercial third parties under any circumstances. However, being involved with any criminal activity and fitting under Canadian legislation, the company can be obliged to share the private information stored on the servers.

The rules can be changed by the service from time-to-time. Therefore, if running the service for a long period, you need to check out the latest news. As you see, the company can be stated as one of the most credible one. TunnelBear is a reliable customer-oriented company that is pleased to answer any of your questions coming from the privacy policy and the terms of usage.


TunnelBear’s extensions and additional features

⇒ TunnelBear for Chrome and Opera 

Providing that your browsing and physical locations are tracked, you can download the extension for putting it in your browser and making all your confidential data and true location protected from adversaries, ISPs, as well as from malicious or unreliable mirror websites.

Bonuses you achieve:

  • The tool presents a lightweight software specially created for your more convenient operation;
  • You will manage to browse privately within seconds, as the tool is user-friendly and easy to set up (More details about VPN setup process in the guide);
  • The tool has VPN-like functions, however, it’s primary goal is to make all your generated web browser data encrypted;
  • The app is compatible with any OS. The only thing you should bear in mind is that it’s been created for Chrome and Opera browsers only;
  • The company assures the app is as simple as bear can run it.

The latest update of the extension is dated back to May 26, 2017.

Besides, the service is being continually improved by the company and today it offers TunnelBear for Teams.

If you need to make your team members absolutely protected when accessing a corporate network, you are offered to subscribe for the team package of the service.

Being turned on the VPN protects your network with AES-256 bit encoding and your authentic address can be switch to any of the offered locations.

Want to know the best part?

It is allowed testing TunnelBear VPN for Teams during 7 days without paying for it. Try the easiest way to protect your corporate network and you will like TunnelBear forever. (Find more

You can entrust your online business protection to the service, as it offers the best protection for your team:

  • Remote and travelling employees will be able to connect to your corporate network without any fear of being hacked or interfered;
  • The company offers global quality assurance testing;
  • The app offers gathering competitive intelligence;
  • It helps you conduct marketing research, as well as accessing geo-blocked business apps.

What is more, any of your business employees can connect up to 5 devices simultaneously (Check if it is in the list of the best VPNs for multiple devices). As well as for all the main service’s packages, the company offers 20+ geo-locations for your business connection including the most popular, such as the UK, the US, Germany, Canada, Australia, etc.

Besides, the extension is provided with round-the-clock priority custom support. In order to subscribe for the package you need to get in touch with TunnelBear company and send a confirmation form:

tunnelbear 

Your first name, company name and email address are required for the form confirmation. You can also supply it with enumeration of all your needs, such as protocols in use, server locations, number of connectable devices and employees, and etc.

So, TunnelBear VPN is a fast-developing company, which offers a great variety of main and additional features that are of a high use for average and advanced customers. With the service usage you will be able to make your network protected, as well as boosted in operation and speed.

All the additional information you can achieve on the official website or while getting in touch with the company’s support team. Having armed your network with the top-notch solution, you will achieve all the most in-demand possibilities and make your web experience defended. 

 


TunnelBear’s purchase process

You can simply download the secure VPN software to your device and give the free version a try.

If you would like to extend your services then you will do a full online application and make a payment so you can enjoy unlimited downloads on a secure VPN.

The software is incredibly easy to install and will provide you with the full protection that you need for all your online activities.

To pay for TunnelBear VPN subscription, it is allowed to take use of:

  • Credit cards (Visa, MasterCard);
  • American Express;
  • Bitcoin.

On which platforms does TunnelBear work?

You can download TunnelBear VPN for Mac, Windows, Linux as well as some mobile devices such as Android and iOS. The software is simple, user friendly and provides you with great functionality.

Do you want to get more detailed information

Do you want to get more detailed information?

No problems! TunnelBear works on:

  • desktop devices (Mac and Windows);
  • portable gadgets (Android and iOS);
  • Chrome browser (Chrome OS, Linux, Mac and Windows);
  • Opera browser (Mac and Windows).

Conclusions on TunnelBear

TunnelBear’s VPN download file is available completely free and the free service for up to 500mb per month provides users with the unique opportunity to test the software before they sign up for a long term commitment.

TunnelBear may not allow P2P, but is still a great secure network that will keep your confidential information completely safe and your online activities confidential despite the fact that the packages are incredibly low.

TunnelBear pros

  • Broad diversity of server locations
  • Desktop clients and VPN apps
  • Discount is available
  • User-friendly interface
  • 5 devices per 1 account
  • Reliable AES 256-bit ciphering

TunnelBear cons

  • Slow speed when connected to some servers (Find what is the fastest VPN service)
  • Limits for a free TunnelBear version
  • P2P is NOT allowed
 

Want to compare the VPN with another one?

Idrees
reply May 29, 2018
Good

Correct me if I’m wrong. But I haven’t found any information about torrenting in TunnelBear VPN review. So I want to know how to use TunnelBear for torrenting? When I searched for the best torrent program Reddit showed the results of sites where to find files. No VPN were offered.

bestvpnrating.com
reply May 29, 2018
Perfect

Hi Idrees! You are right. This VPN review does not contain the information on how to use TunnelBear for torrenting, as the provider does NOT support P2P file sharing (it is mentioned as a minus in TunnelBear review). If you are interested in safe torrenting, it is recommended to read the article “Best VPNs for Torrents 2018”.

Fernando
reply April 10, 2018
Perfect

Planning our vacation in Thai, my wife surfed the net and found that her fav series is not available there. And we started looking for the way to watch it in Thai. VPNs seemed to use the most efficient way to do it. But there are so many of them that the process of choosing a VPN was drawn out. Provided that we had enough time (we started our search three weeks prior to our trip), we examined numerous websites and read lots of VPN reviews. Some of them looked like a fairy tale. And to be honest, we couldn’t find ideal VPN for us. When we found TunnelBear, we decided that 500 MB per month is right the thing we need. 500 MB of protected data for free is really great. For those who want to use a VPN for torrenting, there is an option to upgrade the account and choose another TunnelBear package. There’re no problems. Coming to the conclusion, Tunnel is fairly good VPN software. When we came to Thai, the VPN showed itself as fast a reliable free VPN service. We didn’t have to spend 10 or 15 minutes waiting until a web page is loaded. It unblocked the site with my wife’s fav series and she watch it (we spent in Thai 10 days, thus she watched 2 new episodes of a series). We were afraid that 500 MB may be not enough for it, but luckily we were mistaken. We even could visit news sites sometimes. TunnelBear deserves 5 stars! And thanks for the tip about 1 GB extra. If only I knew it before our trip… But now I know and know what to do next time, when we’ll go abroad.

Sybil
reply March 27, 2018
Good

I can’t say that I use it quite often, so 500mb is enough for me. Tunnel is a rather good free VPN service for non-internet addicted people. Besides, I want to say a word of praise to the author. It’s a good review. Thanks!

Mathew
reply March 08, 2018
Perfect

I was in search of free VPN software when I stumbled on TunnelBear. I started using it without paying for it. But very soon I realized that for u tube Little bear was not enough. MBs ended very soon. And that was the moment when I started thinking about Premium subscription. It is called “Grizzly” package. I’m from Malaga, Spain and some sites are not available for my region. And sometimes it happens that content contained on some sites is limited for us. But after I connected to TunnelBear Netflix website was changed. To my great surprise, Netflix site didn’t identify that I opened it through VPN service and didn’t block me. I was astonished to find out how many Netflix movies and TV shows were blacklisted for me while browsing with mu home Spanish IP-address. In addition I want to add that I use TunnelBear on Mac laptop and iPhone. P.S. for those who aren’t going to stream: TunnelBear is the best free VPN for iPhone. If you want to have a rest abroad and unblock some sites (but not use the VPN permanently), TunnelBear will surprise you and unblock everything you want.

Alex
reply February 26, 2018
Low

I even can’t express my disappointment! They are lairs. On TunnelBear’s site it was claimed that the VPN is compatible with Linux. But it’s total falsehood!!! It doesn’t work on my Linux laptop! In fact I’ve paid for TunnelBear account ‘Grizzly’. It costs almost 60 bucks (in Bitcoin of course for better security). It’s not cheap!!! But I can’t get my money back!!! I hate TunnelBear and its creators! Don’t subscribe for it!!!!!

bestvpnrating.com
reply February 27, 2018
Perfect

Hi Alex! Now we work on a TunnelBear review update with the detailed information on VPN compatibility with various platforms and operating systems. But jumping ahead a bit, it should be mentioned that TunnelBear is compatible with Linux in case a netizen uses Chrome browser. To put it other words, TunnelBear will not protect all applications installed on your Linux gadget. However in case you aim at bypassing geographical restrictions imposed by the ISP or other agencies, it is possible to run TunnelBear Chrome extension on your Linux laptop and access all targeted websites and services. As for the refund you wanted to get, it is necessary to point out that the method you have chosen for payment (Bitcoin) is not refundable. It is written in TunnelBear “Terms of Service”. All in all, you don’t need to cancel the subscription, as it is possible to use it for Chrome browser on your Linux gadget (now you know about it). I hope my comment was useful for you.

Randall
reply December 27, 2017
Good

Just launched it. The only thing I dislike is traffic limits. Speed’s ok! Follow it.

Film amateur
reply November 15, 2017
Good

It’s fine. It manages to bypass geo-blocking. But private accounts aren’t available still. Thus, I open Facebook site, but can’t use my Facebook account. Also, I experienced some strange things… When I use Tunnel Bear extension for streaming, it’s written that the film broadcasting isn’t available for my region. It would be perfect if the developers improve Tunnel Bear.

bestvpnrating.com
reply November 15, 2017
Perfect

Your problem may be connected with the browser you use or with the server location you choose. First of all, clear the cache of the browser you use for streaming or accessing social networks. Then it is necessary to remember that you are to choose the country where the source you are going to use is NOT blacklisted.

Ronyaaaa
reply November 12, 2017
Perfect

Oh, I like this cute bear! Also, it makes me less restricted online. I tried some American sites and they are opened. I don’t understand why some people write they can’t open the sources. Maybe they’ve forgotten to switch on the app?

Anna
reply October 29, 2017
Perfect

Excellent! I like it!))) After the traffic will be over, I will subscribe for a paid plan. But if only there were Russia. The nearest server I have to choose is Norwegian. I choose it in order the speed to be good.

bestvpnrating.com
reply October 30, 2017
Perfect

Anna, I guess you live in Russia. There is no need to choose Russian VPN servers, as the local laws are too strict and many sources are prohibited for those who use Russian IPs. That is why, there is no sense in using Russian VPN servers. Take advantage of TunnelBear VPN with its servers located in less restricted countries.

crisss
reply June 25, 2017
Low

The application on both mobile phones and PCs is visually pleasing. They offer several locations.
But as a paying customer you get to compete with those who receive free services. Many times I'm not able to connect to any server in the world. Their technical support is just bad. I contacted the support regarding the speed I was having on the USA server because it was really bad.I got no response within 24 hours.Later, I received a response saying that it was normal to lose speed when using a VPN service.
I am in Europe, and I know that speed would be affected by the connection to another continent. But I’ve had several VPNs from Brazil, and this is sincerely bad.
Since TunnelBear does not return the money (I’ve applied within the first 24 hours), they can basically do whatever they want. Save your time and frustration by choosing another service.

Claire
reply September 03, 2016
Perfect

TunnelBear is a safe and cheap service. I really like their website and the idea to use a bear as a logo. It looks very nice! Anyway, this VPN is stable, fast and works properly for me.

barney
reply August 31, 2016
Perfect

Its possibility to maintain multiple connections is awesome. I use two mobile devices in addition to my home computer. So, I was interested to create one account to protect three connections. With this VPN I managed to do this without paying additional fees. TunnelBear is a brilliant and safe tool! I’m very satisfied with my experience using it.

Calvin
reply July 03, 2016
Perfect

Why do I use TunnelBear? Because they have fetch bears everywhere and even cute animations on iOS. In addition, they work on all platforms and have a quite good free service. The biggest con of TunnelBear is the data limit. I use free version and need more than 500MB of traffic, it isn’t much use for streaming media.